Newbe's Steam Powered Blog

Karma Has a Head

It must be karma. The other day, I began development of a steam-punk-styled skydiving lift. It was a tad slow, so I changed a thing here and there. Golly, did that make a difference. Suddenly, I was soaring to ridiculous heights at incalculable speeds. So I decided, as the last line of my previous blog eludes, to create a ship capable of making the first trip to the moon.

Well, things don’t always go as planned. The first attempt, although very rugged looking, seemed best at emulating a bowling pin. Entertaining, though hardly a rapid form of transit, I had to head back to the drawing board. For attempt two, I changed a thing here and a thing there and ended with a vehicle that would casually glide into the sky, but I figured that food would become a problem long before it ever neared its destination.

Eureka! I decided to change things again by making the vehicle think it is an “airplane,” whatever that is. Although not blisteringly fast, the speed of ascent is adequate for a steam-powered craft.

Moon Space Ship at Writer Steam Works

It seems to drift, but flight is smooth and steady. But just when I thought I had all loose ends tied, karma raises its ugly head. I’m assuming that karma has a head, of course, as I have never actually seen karma, let alone its head. Furthermore, I am assuming that if karma does indeed have a head, that it is ugly. Otherwise, why would it keep its head hidden until those inopportune moments when it chooses to raise said head.

As I was saying, karma decided that successful flight was not on the agenda. Everything was working fine until I added the door. I figured that, as the vehicle is capable of flying to dangerous heights, a door might be in order. But no, karma would have none of that. Since adding the door, the flight controls become confused and seem to think that the captain of the vessel, immediately after sitting upon the seat, has just stepped off the seat. Well, back to the drawing board.

Sky-Jump Lift at 2023m

Oddly, those exact same controls, when loaded into the skydiving lift manage to work masterfully. Except for that aforementioned drift. I’m sure I can work that one out, unless karma has anything to say.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

